A Practically Perfect Weekend

I recently had a practically perfect weekend.  It started off with a fundraiser on Friday evening when I toured the new Rehabilitation Pavilion at Sarasota Memorial Hospital.  It warmed my heart to see what a great contribution to the community the Rehabilitation Pavilion will be.  I saw a young man who never thought he would walk again, stand upright and walk wearing a robotic exoskeleton. Amazing! The good work and compassionate care the therapists, nurses, and physicians provide every day make me proud to work at Sarasota Memorial Health Care System.

On Saturday, I did a good deed by volunteering at the Open House for the same Rehab Pavilion. I met members of the community and patients who have benefited from the therapies provided at the hospital. This is picture of Sam Solie (right) from Sarasota Memorial’s Marketing Department and me.

Sam and Theresa_April 2017 Rehab opening

Then I went home and took a nap.  As I’ve gotten older, I’ve learned to appreciate the wonders of a short afternoon snooze.

On Saturday evening, I got to pick the movie for date night.  We saw “Beauty and the Beast,” which I thoroughly enjoyed.

On Sunday, my friend Sue and I went to the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens for the “Marc Chagall, Flowers, and the French Riviera: The Color of Dreams” exhibit.  The lavender fields and tall cypress trees reminded me of France.  There was even a painter in the garden, brush to canvas, and white floppy hat blocking the sun. The Selby House has been turned into a Marc Chagall museum and is the first botanical garden to exhibit Chagall’s work that includes The Lovers and The Color of Dreams.  After a short walk through the Banyan forest and the epiphyte garden, relaxing on a bench overlooking Sarasota Bay was the perfect place to stop for a moment and reflect on the beauty of nature and art. The sail boats were gliding across the waves as the pelicans dove into the water for their dinner and children placed flowers in the Buddha’s hands and giggled as they ran towards expansive lawn behind me. I took a deep breath, closed my eyes, and just listened to the life around me. After a few minutes, we walked on through the mangroves and decided to head for home.  Of course, no trip to the gardens is complete without a stop in the gift shop on the way to the parking lot.

 

Sue really enjoyed these pink flowers.

. IMG_8614

My practically perfect weekend included doing a good deed, a heartwarming experience, a good movie, enjoying nature, art, and spending time with the people I love.

What is your idea of a practically perfect weekend?

If you want to see the Marc Chagall Exhibit at the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, it will be there until July 31sthttp://selby.org/

This entry was posted in Botanical Gardens, Florida, Sarasota and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

